Blogs is an application where users can add entries of commentary, share project information, or provide a journal of events. Other users may comment on the blog entries, also known as “posts”.
Users who create and own blogs are called “bloggers”. Bloggers have profiles that provide a photo and information about themselves. Bloggers have full ownership of their blogs. They can choose to have a private or public blog. They can assign members and membership rights to their blog. Members provide the option for a collaborative multi-authoring blog. Blogs can not only serve a personal employee’s contributions, but also provide a project space for team members.
When you first enter the blog application, you will see a welcome message and a navigation box on the right for viewing profiles. If you have rights to be a blogger, you will see a link for creating a blog.
Create a Blog
The Site Administrator can determine if all users can create blogs, or if select users and/or groups can be bloggers. If you have rights, you will see a link to create a blog from the navigation box at the top right of the blogs application home page.
Once you have saved your blog title and short description, you may edit the blog settings. When you first create the blog, it will be entered as private so that you may work on it, change settings, design the blog, enter postings. When you are ready, you can edit the blog settings and change the blog to be public. If you wish to keep the blog private (secured), it will only be available to yourself as the blog owner, site admins and any members that you assign to the blog.
After you save the title and short description of your blog, an “edit settings” link will be available for the blog settings box. The blog settings allow you to:
Assign a topic for your blog
Topics are a method of organization for the blog application home page. They are simply topic labels and have no other function than organization. The Site Administrator creates topics for you to choose from. If you choose to not assign a topic, your blog will be listed under a generic “no topic” label
Set the blog as private or public -- Public blogs can be read by everyone. Private blogs are accessible only by you, site admins and assigned members have access.
Post Format -- You have the option of selecting if you want a long or short post format. This applies to the view of postings on your blog. If you select long, the full post content will display. If you select short, you can choose to show xxx characters (a preview of the content) with a link to view the full post
Post Approvals -- As blog owner, you have the option of enabling post approvals should you have other users assigned as members who can contribute and add postings to your blog. This allows the blog owner to review and approve posts before they are published to the blog
Post Advertising -- Enable or disable post advertising to the site home page
Number of Active Posts -- Set a number of active posts to display on the blog before items can be found in the archive
Archive Format -- Display the archive as a flat list or a drop down. Flat list would display as
January 2009 (5)
February 2009 (23)
March 2009 (17)
Post Cleanup -- The cleanup will permanently delete all postings within the designated time frame chosen. If you do not wish to perform a cleanup of data, ensure this option box is unchecked
Comments -- Set comments to be private or public (public depending on who can read the blog). Enable comment review: review and approve comments before they are published. Determine if you want to allow comments by everyone and anonymous users, or everyone and not anonymous users, or restrict comment entries to only blog members. Order comments by created date in ascending or descending order
There is a help file link in blog settings for information on each of these settings
Blog Public Profile
After creating your blog you can change how your Public Profile will be seen as the Blog Owner.
- [change name] : selecting this option will allow you to change the name of yourself as seen on the Public Profile.
- [change photo] : selecting this option will allow you to change your photo.
- [add desc] : selecting this option will allow you to add a short description which appears on your Public Profile.
Note: By default the name / photo is grabbed from the Employee Directory. So any changes made there will be reflected here. However, changing your name on the Public Profile will not change it in the Employee Directory.